About Galapagos

The Galápagos Islands are an ensemble consisting of 14 islands and a series of skerries situated 972 kilometers off the Ecuadorian coast. The Islands, its National Park and the biological marine reservation form the only province which is completely surrounded by water.

The Galápagos Islands are of volcanic origin. Therefore it houses unique species like iguanas, Galápagos tortoises, albatrosses, boobies and sea lions. The particular mixture of the flora and fauna and the unique way how many species evolved were subject for Charles Darwin's studies about the origin of the species.

Santa Cruz is the most populous islands and accommodates the most comercial city of the province: Puerto Ayora. While the archipelago is located at the equator, the Humboldt Current influences the water clime by bringing cold waters from the South. The average temperature is 25°C throughout the whole year.

The Galápagos Islands and its resources were declared World Natural Heritage by the UNESCO in 1979 for being a natural laboratory like no other in the world.


Payment Options

Stay in touch

  • Facebook Facebook
  • Google+ Google+
  • Twitter Twitter
  • Skype Skype